Cracking the Cube

"[The author, a] journalist and aspiring "speedcuber," attempts to break into the international phenomenon of speedsolving the Rubik's Cube ... while exploring the greater lessons that can be learned through solving it"--Amazon.com.

Cracking the Cube

Ian Scheffler, journalist and aspiring “speedcuber,” attempts to break into the international phenomenon of speedsolving the Rubik’s Cube—think chess played at the speed of Ping-Pong—while exploring the greater lessons that can be learned through solving it. When Hungarian professor Ernő Rubik invented the Rubik’s Cube (or, rather, his Cube) in 1974 out of wooden blocks, rubber bands, and paper clips, he didn’t even know if it could be solved, let alone that it would become the world’s most popular puzzle. Since its creation, the Cube has become many things to many people: one of the bestselling children’s toys of all time, a symbol of intellectual prowess, a frustrating puzzle with 43.2 quintillion possible permutations, and now a worldwide sporting phenomenon that is introducing the classic brainteaser to a new generation. In Cracking the Cube, Ian Scheffler reveals that cubing isn’t just fun and games. Along with participating in speedcubing competitions—from the World Championship to local tournaments—and interviewing key figures from the Cube’s history, he journeys to Budapest to seek a meeting with the legendary and notoriously reclusive Rubik, who is still tinkering away with puzzles in his seventies. Getting sucked into the competitive circuit himself, Scheffler becomes engrossed in solving Rubik’s Cube in under twenty seconds, the quasi-mystical barrier known as “sub-20,” which is to cubing what four minutes is to the mile: the difference between the best and everyone else. As Scheffler learns from the many gurus who cross his path, from pint-sized kids to engineering professors, it’s not just about memorizing algorithms or even solving all six sides—it’s about discovering how to solve yourself.

More Books:

Cracking the Cube
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Ian Scheffler
Categories: Games & Activities
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-04 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Ian Scheffler, journalist and aspiring “speedcuber,” attempts to break into the international phenomenon of speedsolving the Rubik’s Cube—think chess played at the speed of Ping-Pong—while exploring the greater lessons that can be learned through solving it. When Hungarian professor Ernő Rubik invented the Rubik’s Cube (or, rather, his Cube) in
Decoding Greatness
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Ron Friedman
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-15 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

NATIONAL BESTSELLER For readers of Atomic Habits, Deep Work, and Peak comes a game-changing approach to mastering new skills and succeeding faster. For generations, we’ve been taught there are two ways to succeed—either from talent or practice. In Decoding Greatness, award-winning social psychologist Ron Friedman illuminates a powerful third path—one
Selection and Durability of Seal Materials for a Bedded Salt Repository
Language: en
Pages: 168
Authors: D. M. Roy
Categories: Radioactive waste disposal in the ground
Type: BOOK - Published: 1983 - Publisher:

Books about Selection and Durability of Seal Materials for a Bedded Salt Repository
Nanotribology and Nanomechanics
Language: en
Pages: 928
Authors: Bharat Bhushan
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-05 - Publisher: Springer

This textbook and comprehensive reference source and serves as a timely, practical introduction to the principles of nanotribology and nanomechanics. This 4th edition has been completely revised and updated, concentrating on the key measurement techniques, their applications, and theoretical modeling of interfaces. It provides condensed knowledge of the field from
Echinoderms: Munchen
Language: en
Pages: 664
Authors: Thomas Heinzeller, James H. Nebelsick
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-12-08 - Publisher: CRC Press

Since 1972, scientists from all over the world working on fundamental questions of echinoderm biology and palaeontology have conferred every three years to exchange current views and results. The 11th International Echinoderm Conference held at the University of Munich, Germany, from 6-10 October 2003,continued this tradition. This volume comprises 95