Almost American Girl

This nonfiction graphic novel with four starred reviews is an excellent choice for teens and also accelerated tween readers, both for independent reading and units on immigration, memoirs, and the search for identity.

Almost American Girl

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. This nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother’s announcement that she’s getting married—Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn’t understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn’t fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother. Then one day Robin’s mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

More Books:

Almost American Girl
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Robin Ha
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-01-28 - Publisher: HarperCollins

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. This nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun
Almost American Girl
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Perfection Learning Corporation
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02 - Publisher: Turtleback

Books about Almost American Girl
Almost American
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Billie Tuvshinbayar
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-06 - Publisher:

Books about Almost American
The Wide Starlight
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Nicole Lesperance
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-16 - Publisher: Penguin

The Hazel Wood meets The Astonishing Color of After in this dreamy, atmospheric novel that follows sixteen-year-old Eli as she tries to remember what truly happened the night her mother disappeared off a frozen fjord in Norway under the Northern Lights. Never whistle at the Northern Lights, the legend goes,
Handbook of Research on Teaching Diverse Youth Literature to Pre-Service Professionals
Language: en
Pages: 727
Authors: Hartsfield, Danielle E.
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-25 - Publisher: IGI Global

Perspectives and identity are typically reinforced at a young age, giving teachers the responsibility of selecting reading material that could potentially change how the child sees the world. This is the importance of sharing diverse literature with today’s children and young adults, which introduces them to texts that deal with